---
title: "How To Close an Inbox Message"
canonical: "https://resourcecenter.kenect.com/space/Messaging/42009111/How%20To%20Close%20an%20Inbox%20Message"
format: markdown
---
In this article, you'll learn how to close a message from your inbox. This article also provides information regarding what happens after a message is closed, how to find a message after it is closed, and how to re-open a closed message.

 

> ℹ️ ****For instructions on closing Inbox Messages on our mobile app, scroll to the bottom of this article.****

 

# **Closing Inbox Message on Desktop Version**

#### **Step-by-Step Guide**

1. From the Inbox page, identify the conversation you would like to close. To the far left of the message, you'll notice a checkbox.

 

![image-20240506-165716.png](media://8e990bb9-b61c-45f3-9a7b-3a42bebd1c2e)

  

2. Check the box, then at the top-left of your screen, select 'Marked Closed.'

![image-20240506-165733.png](media://21565e60-b1f2-403f-a8d4-f3d711ac195c)

  

a. Your message moves from 'Open Conversations' to 'Closed Conversations.'


![image-20240506-165753.png](media://678e8dcc-4366-497e-9e14-135a667a4732)


3. You can access Closed Conversations by clicking 'Open Conversations' and selecting 'Closed Conversations.'

![image-20240506-165808.png](media://6d250d0e-2c8b-4b82-a16c-a1d274cce8ae)

# **Closing Inbox Message on Mobile Version**

1. The default view of the mobile app will display your current Open Messages. Select the conversation you need to close.


![image-20240506-165832.png](media://60176a32-bd1b-45fe-870d-2998c477a9f4)


2. In the conversation, select the three vertical dots in the top right corner then select 'Marked Closed.'

 

![image-20240506-165848.png](media://cbeb3c90-1d97-435c-b21c-49db6b16c2b1)

  

3. You will be routed to the main inbox screen after closing the conversation. To find that conversation, click 'Open Messages' and select 'Closed.' This will display any conversation that is marked closed.

> ℹ️ *Note: You can follow the same steps above to re-open the conversation, if needed.*

![image-20240506-165913.png](media://8883a4d1-593d-4d3d-af51-8e630ca9619a)

# **Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)**

- **Can I Re-Open a message once it is closed?**
  - Yes! Simply navigate to closed conversations, search for the message using the Search Bar (See: How to use inbox filters) and then follow the steps above. The only difference being the option will be labeled “Mark Open.”
- **Are there other methods of re-opening a message other than marking it as open?**
  - Yes, to re-open a conversation, you can also simply send that contact another text from Kenect! This will automatically move their conversation from Closed to Open!
- **If I close a message and a customer messages me back, how will I see it?**
  - When the client sends your Kenect enabled number a message, the conversation will automatically move to “Open.” No need to worry about missing messages from clients whose conversation is marked “Closed.”
- **Is there a way to close all my messages at the same time?**
  - Not currently! We are always accepting feature requests, simply text or email your Customer Success Manager to learn more about the current availability of this feature.
- **Does closing a message delete my conversation?**
  - No! You will have access to all your Kenect messages as long as you will need them. Closing messages provides a way to keep your inbox clean and organized!
- **Can I close more than one message at the same time?**
  - Yes, simply check the box to the left of all messages you want to close from your inbox, once you reach the bottom of your page, you will need to scroll to populate older messages. After all are selected, press the Mark Closed button that will now have appeared at the top of the screen.
- **Does closing my message make it disappear for other users?**
  - Yes, be wary when closing a message that may involve other users at your business, as removing a closed message from your specific inbox, moves it to closed for all other users as well.
- **I am a Kenect admin, I keep seeing messages disappearing, how do I know who is closing them?**
  - Your Kenect Customer Success Manager can provide some insight on who is closing a message, the better practice would be to speak with your staff internally to identify who may be closing messages. It is a best practice at Kenect to identify processes for closing messages. Whether this takes place once a conversation is over, once an internal member of the staff has responded, or when a message is over a certain age, or even if there are only specific staff that can close a message. There are many ways you can manage your messages.