---
title: "How To Delete A Text Message"
canonical: "https://resourcecenter.kenect.com/space/Messaging/41976126/How%20To%20Delete%20A%20Text%20Message"
format: markdown
---
# **Purpose**

In this article, you will learn how to delete a text message in Kenect. In the event you need to delete a message, Kenect makes it quick and easy to do.

*Note: Deleting a message can only be done using the desktop version on Kenect.*

 

#### **Step-by-Step Guide**

1. Find and select the conversation you need to delete a message from.

![image-20240506-151652.png](media://0db8a099-c1f5-4dd6-9f91-497c9a00ace4)

  

2. Hover over the intended message and click the red trash can icon.


![image-20240506-151709.png](media://441c9e4e-43eb-4801-9bb5-3b68e270a3d3)


3. A new window will appear, click 'Delete' to finalize your step.


![image-20240506-151719.png](media://329e51a1-22ed-42ed-a9f6-92dcf4701fb6)


4. You will see a message with a timestamp of when and who deleted the message.

![image-20240506-151728.png](media://4c40c8f8-94b1-4f49-b180-c1040845434d)

  

# **Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)**

- **Can any user delete a text message?**
  - No, only Organization Admins and Location Admins have the ability to delete messages. The trash icon will not display for other users.
- **Can a deleted message be recovered? **
  - Not directly from the Platform. Please contact Kenect Support to discuss your situation.