---
title: "How To Assign A Conversation"
canonical: "https://resourcecenter.kenect.com/space/Messaging/41975883/How%20To%20Assign%20A%20Conversation"
format: markdown
---
# **Purpose**

In this article, you'll learn how to assign conversations. You can assign a conversation to a user and team within Kenect. Assigning a conversation is an effective way for users and teams to track and engage in conversations. 

> ℹ️ ****For instructions on assigning conversations on our mobile app, scroll to the bottom of this article.****

# **Assign a Conversation on Desktop Version**

#### **Step-by-Step Guide**

1. Open the conversation you need to assign and click the 3 vertical dots in the top-right corner.

 

![image-20240506-143616.png](media://691da708-cb1a-45d0-9f58-dad7ad651d8a)

  

2. From the dropdown menu, select "Assign."

 

![image-20240506-143627.png](media://827f379b-1f13-4103-b801-311a332286c8)

  

3. A menu will appear where you can assign a single user or team. Click "Assign" when you're done.

 

![image-20240506-143640.png](media://27186ec3-b590-4243-8d79-463a6bb14732)

  

# **Quick Assign a User From the Inbox**

1. From the Inbox, click on the 3 vertical dots to the right of the contact name

 

![image-20240506-143652.png](media://d3555525-1454-4f65-a93d-19120052e5b3)

  

2. Select "Assign" from the dropdown menu.

 

![image-20240506-143705.png](media://4c47603a-17b9-46c4-964a-f46ef631fd5b)

  

3. A menu will appear where you can assign a single user or team. Click "Assign" when you're done.

 

![image-20240506-143718.png](media://483c6574-5a27-4c94-b2df-18d8383c156f)

  

# **Assign a User on the Mobile App**

1. Open the conversation you need to assign a user or team.

 

![image-20240506-143729.png](media://e4f60871-02c8-4f2e-8d56-28f33b33980b)

  

2. Click the 3 vertical dots in the top-right corner of the conversation, then select "Assign."

 

![image-20240506-143742.png](media://93f45808-310a-4493-b9ea-460cef3c8336)

  

3. Your contact's name will be indicated in blue. A list of Users, and Teams, will be available to pick from when you click each dropdown.

 

![image-20240506-143753.png](media://ffa408ab-aaca-4e3b-b2b7-a989b4ee3fb0)

  

Your conversation is now assigned to a user (or team)!  If you ever need to remove an assigned user or team, follow these same steps and deselect the user or team.

> ℹ️ **On the mobile app, the selected user will be indicated by a green checkmark.**